22.1 C
New Delhi
Wednesday, October 4, 2023

China’s New Map Sparks Diplomatic Concerns by Including Arunachal Pradesh and Aksai Chin

China’s recent unveiling of its updated “standard map” has ignited a diplomatic firestorm by incorporating disputed territories such as Arunachal Pradesh, Aksai Chin, Taiwan, and the contentious South China Sea regions. The release of this map on August 28 has not only raised diplomatic concerns but has also reignited longstanding disputes in the region.

China’s Official Map and Diplomatic Implications

China’s official map, known as the 2023 edition, was introduced through the Ministry of Natural Resources’ standard map service website. This map employs a methodology that employs national boundaries to represent China’s geopolitical perspective on global geography. This move has the potential to exacerbate tensions with neighboring countries, adding complexity to already strained relations.

Inclusion of Disputed Territories

The most contentious aspect of the new map is its inclusion of Arunachal Pradesh and Aksai Chin, territories that have been at the center of ongoing conflicts between China and India. Despite China’s insistence on its claims over Arunachal Pradesh as part of South Tibet, India has consistently asserted its sovereignty over the region. The map’s depiction of these territories directly challenges India’s stance and has sparked renewed tensions.

Taiwan’s Status and Global Concerns

China’s map also asserts Taiwan as an integral part of its territory, aligning with President Xi Jinping’s strategic objectives. This portrayal further exacerbates tensions between China and Taiwan, which is a matter of global concern. The ongoing pursuit of Taiwan’s integration into China’s fold adds a layer of complexity to an already delicate geopolitical situation.

South China Sea Controversy

The map’s delineation includes the controversial nine-dash line, a move that asserts a significant portion of the South China Sea as Chinese territory. This action is met with opposition from countries like Vietnam, the Philippines, Malaysia, Brunei, and Taiwan. These nations have competing claims over the same maritime regions, leading to heightened tensions in the already disputed South China Sea.

For more updates stay tuned to FELA News!

Source: TOI

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles