33.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, July 16, 2024

United States Commends India’s Success in Hosting G20 Leaders’ Summit

United States has applauded India’s hosting of the G20 Leaders’ Summit in Delhi, characterizing it as a resounding success. Under India’s presidency, the G20 Leaders’ Summit concluded with great enthusiasm, drawing praise from global leaders.

A significant highlight of the summit was the joint announcement of the ambitious India-Middle East-Europe Economic Corridor (IMEC) by leaders from the United States, India, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, France, Germany, Italy, and the European Union. This announcement showcased the summit’s ability to foster international cooperation and partnerships.

The US State Department’s official spokesperson, Matthew Miller, expressed their positive view of the summit during a press briefing. He stated, “We absolutely believe it was a success. The G20 is a big organization, and its membership includes Russia and China.”

Miller also addressed Russia’s absence from the New Delhi Leaders’ Declaration, emphasizing the diverse range of views within the G20. He noted the importance of the organization issuing a statement that emphasized the need to respect territorial integrity and sovereignty, which directly relates to Russia’s actions in Ukraine.

Throughout the two-day summit, world leaders praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his decisive leadership and his advocacy for the Global South. India’s hospitality and the successful organization of the summit were also widely commended. The summit’s theme, “one earth, one family, one future,” resonated strongly with all delegates.

This marked a historic moment as it was India’s first time hosting the G20 Summit. The event took place in New Delhi from September 9 to 10, with meticulous preparations made to showcase India’s traditions and strengths on the global stage. During its presidency, India focused on crucial issues such as inclusive growth, digital innovation, climate resilience, and equitable global health access. Following India’s presidency, Brazil is set to assume the G20 presidency.

The G20 is a significant global forum, representing approximately 85% of the world’s GDP, over 75% of global trade, and about two-thirds of the global population. Its member countries include Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, the US, and the European Union. Furthermore, the African Union’s admission as a permanent member adds further diversity to the G20.

For more updates stay tuned to FELA News!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles