36.1 C
New Delhi
Thursday, May 30, 2024

Shehbaz Sharif Becomes Pakistan’s Prime Minister

Shehbaz Sharif on Sunday secured his second term as Pakistan’s prime minister as lawmakers elected him with 201 votes amid protests in parliament.

Shehbaz’s party Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) will lead a coalition government with Bilawal Bhutto Zardari’s Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) as a key partner. The development comes despite former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed independents emerging as the largest number of winners, followed by PML-N and PPP.

Trump defeated Haley in Iowa, New Hampshire, and Nevada, where she did not appear on the ballot. She was also trounced by Trump in the US Virgin Islands before losing in South Carolina.

Before the Michigan winner was declared, Haley defended her choice to remain in the contest. “We’ve just seen a few states vote. “We’re taking this one state, one day at a time,” she told CNN’s Dana Bash.

Pakistan Elections: Who Gets What?

The PML-N enjoys the complete support of the military establishment in forming the government.

As part of the PML-N-PPP alliance deal, it was decided that Nawaz Sharif’s daughter, Maryam Nawaz, would be the chief minister of Punjab province. Maryam, the political heir of Nawaz, took the oath on Monday and became the first woman chief minister of any province in the country.

The other part of the deal stipulated that PPP’s senior leader, former Pakistan president Asif Ali Zardari, would get the President’s post.

Who won in Pakistan election?

• Independent candidates aligned with Imran Khan’s PTI claimed 93 out of 265 national assembly seats.

• Nawaz Sharif’s PML-N emerged victorious at 75 seats in the national assembly.

• Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) secured 54 seats in the national assembly.

• Karachi-based Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P), representing Urdu-speaking people who migrated from India during partition, got 17 seats.

• Election to one seat was postponed following the death of a candidate.

As per Pakistan’s constitution, a party must win 133 out of the 265 contested seats in the 266-member national assembly to form a government.

Get the latest news updates and stay informed with FELA NEWS!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles