31.1 C
New Delhi
Friday, June 21, 2024

New Era in Indian Politics: 280 First-Time MPs Elected

Approximately 280 members of the 18th Lok Sabha are first-time elected MPs, which is a rise from the 267 first-time MPs elected in the 2019 elections.

A total of 263 newly elected MPs have previously served as members of Lok Sabha. 

Additionally, 16 MPs have been members of Rajya Sabha, and one MP has served seven terms in Lok Sabha, according to think-tank PRS Legislative Research.

Of the re-elected MPs, eight changed their constituency, and one was re-elected from two constituencies. Nine re-elected MPs represented a different party in the 17th Lok Sabha, while eight others represented a party that split from their earlier party.

Out of the 53 ministers who contested, 35 have won.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the largest party in the new Lok Sabha with 240 seats. The next largest party is the Indian National Congress (INC) with 99 seats, followed by the Samajwadi Party with 37 seats.

Get the latest news updates and stay informed with FELA NEWS!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles