31.1 C
New Delhi
Friday, June 21, 2024

Lok Sabha Results LIVE: PM Modi Wins From Varanasi By 1.5 Lakh Votes

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has won the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat for a third time.

Mr Modi has beaten the Congress’ Ajay Rai by over 1.5 lakh votes. In third place was the Bahujan Samaj Party’s Ather Jamal Lari, who finished nearly 5.8 lakh behind the Prime Minister.

Earlier today Mr Rai – who has contested and lost each of the past three general elections from the temple town – threatened (briefly) to cause, perhaps, the biggest shock in Indian electoral history.

In the initial rounds of counting Mr Rai was leading Prime Minister Modi by 6,223 votes.

As the day wore on, though, the PM stretched his legs and disappeared into the distance; Mr Modi polled over 55 per cent of the votes in the 2014 and 2019 election.

Get the latest news updates and stay informed with FELA NEWS!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles