31.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Voting in the UP municipal elections begins, and CM Yogi votes

On Thursday morning, voting for the first phase of municipal polls to elect urban body chiefs in 37 districts of Uttar Pradesh began. More than 2 crore people are eligible to vote in the first phase, which will decide the fate of 44,232 candidates. Yogi Adityanath, the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, also voted from Gorakhpur and uploaded a photo.

The first phase of voting for urban body chiefs in 37 districts of Uttar Pradesh takes place on Thursday. Voting will take place in 37 districts comprising nine divisions and ten municipal corporations.

According to official figures, 2 crore 40 lakh voters will exercise their right to vote in the UP urban body elections to choose/elect 10 mayors, 820 councilors, 103 municipal council presidents, 2740 member municipal councils, 275 presidents, and 3645 municipal council members across the state’s 37 districts.

The second phase of voting will take place on May 11 to elect representatives to the state’s 760 municipal authorities. The voting will take place on May 13th.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles