List of nations that will host FIFA World Cup in 2026 & 2030

List of nations that will host FIFA World Cup in 2026 & 2030
List of nations that will host FIFA World Cup in 2026 & 2030

Fans from across the globe have already started to look for the hosting nations and venues for these tournaments in advance. With the successful conclusion of the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar with Argentina winning the title after 36 years, all eyes are now on the upcoming FIFA World Cup tournaments in 2026 and 2030 respectively.

READ | Argentina govt declares national holiday for FIFA World Cup 2022 glory celebration with Messi and Co

The FIFA World Cup in 2026 is all set to be jointly hosted by the United States, Canada, and Mexico. These North American nations will be hosting the tournament in a completely new and expanded format by giving platforms to 48 nations. This all-new format was earlier a subject of controversy before getting finalized.

Canada will be hosting the prestigious FIFA World Cup for the very first time in comparison to the United States and Mexico which will be hosting it for the second and third time respectively. The three countries won the bid to host the tournament in 2018 and named it “United 2026” after a majority of FIFA’s congress voted in favour of these nations against Morocco.

FIFA has released a list of sixteen cities from these three countries which will be hosting the matches. Among them, eleven are from the United States that includes Atlanta, Los Angeles, the Bay Area, Seattle, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, New York/New Jersey, Boston, Philadelphia, and Miami, while Mexico has finalised three venues that include the Estadio Azteca in Mexico City, Estadio BBVA in Monterrey and Estadio Akron in Guadalajara. Canada meanwhile will be hosting the matches at two venues including Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton and BMO Field in Toronto.

READ | After FIFA World Cup, Qatar determined to host Olympics games

While there is still suspense over the hosting nation for FIFA World Cup 2030 with multiple nations coming up for the bid. Ukraine officially joined Spain and Portugal in their joint bid which amazed everyone as it is currently in a war situation with Russia which is destroying its assets. Morocco is also eyeing to get the venue in 2030 after losing the bid for the 2026 World Cup to the North American nations. Moreover, South American nations Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, and Chile are also in the race with a joint bid option.

This suspense over FIFA World Cup 2030 hosting nation is not looking to get resolved before 2024 when the FIFA congress sits for the voting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here