31.1 C
New Delhi
Friday, June 21, 2024

KKR Becomes IPL Champions for the Third Time

On Sunday, May 26, the Knight Riders were declared the winners of the Indian Premier League for the third time in franchise history. In the most lopsided IPL final ever, KKR destroyed SunRisers, bowling Pat Cummins’ team out for 113 and chasing the mark down at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai with 57 balls and 8 wickets remaining. The IPL 2024 final was the shortest title match in the competition in terms of overs bowled, lasting only 29 overs, thanks to KKR’s all-around dominating performance.

Shreyas Iyer became only the second KKR captain to win the IPL title after Gautam Gambhir (2012 and 2014), who was in the dugout on Sunday as a proud mentor. In fact, Iyer is only the fifth Indian captain after MS Dhoni, Gambhir, Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya to lead a team to victory in an IPL final.

KKR reaffirmed their status as one of the most successful IPL teams. With the third title in their bag, the Knight Riders are only being CSK and Mumbai who have five titles each.


On the other hand, Pat Cummins suffered his first defeat in a major tournament final in more than a year after leading Australia to the World Test Championship and the World Cup final.

In one of the most one-sided finals in the history of the IPL, Kolkata extended their dominance over SunRisers, beating Pat Cummins-led side for the third time in the 2024 season. It was an all-round show from the Knight Riders as SRH chose the wrong occasion to implode. Mitchell Starc showed why he is the man for the big occasion as he led KKR’s rout of SRH’s top-order, while Andre Russell, playing his first final for KKR, topped the bowling charts with 3 wickets.

The Knight Riders’ most impressive player, Venkatesh Iyer, gave the SRH a dose of their own medicine by smashing a 24-ball fifty and scornfully hitting the SRH bowlers all over the pitch.

It was said that SunRisers changed power-hitting in the 2024 Indian Premier League. Earlier in the season, they recorded 287, the greatest total in the tournament’s history. On the big day, though, they were dismissed for 113, the lowest team total in an IPL final ever. Paradoxically, earlier in the season, in a game in Delhi, SRH had amassed 125 runs in the powerplay (first six overs).

The wheels came off for SunRisers on the big day as none of their big names, including the famous opening duo of Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma, failed to get going. Captain Pat Cummins waged a lone battle and topped the batting chart with 24 runs. Aiden Markram and Heinrich Klaasen felt the pressure of the early wickets as KKR bowlers never allowed the pressure to release and kept the stranglehold going.

It was a collective show from KKR’s bowling unit, led by Mitchell Starc and Andre Russell. Vaibhav Arora struck in the powerplay, getting the most important wicket of Travis Head, who had hit a match-winning hundred in the last major tournament final he played in India — the ODI World Cup.

Harshit Rana, one of the finds of the IPL, picked up 2 wickets and gave away just 24 runs in four overs. Rana picked the big wicket of Heinrich Klaasen, who was not able to get going in the big final.

In response, the Knight Riders came out all guns blazing, getting to the finish line in just 9.3 overs. Venkatesh Iyer remained unbeaten on 52 off just 26 balls as he was rewarded for his bravery after KKR lost Sunil Narine early in the powerplay. Fittingly, captain Shreyas Iyer was in the middle when KKR hit the winning runs and finished off the contest.

Get the latest news updates and stay informed with FELA NEWS!

Source: India Today

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles