35.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Full List of 33 Opposition MPs Barred from Lok Sabha During Winter Session

In a dramatic turn of events during the ongoing winter session of Parliament, a total of 33 opposition members were suspended from the Lok Sabha on Monday. The suspension, a consequence of their alleged role in disrupting proceedings, includes prominent figures such as Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, DMK MPs T R Baalu and Dayanidhi Maran, and TMC’s Saugata Roy.

Out of the 33 MPs facing suspension, 30 are barred from participating in the remainder of the Winter Session, while three – K Jayakumar, Vijay Vasanth, and Abdul Khaleque – face suspension pending the report of the Privileges Committee. This trio had notably climbed onto the Speaker’s podium to raise slogans.

The motion for suspension was set into motion by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi following the naming of the MPs by the Chair. The motion was adopted by a voice vote, leading to the adjournment of the House for the day.

Here is the comprehensive list of the 33 opposition MPs suspended from the Lok Sabha today:

  1. Kalyan Banerjee (Trinamool Congress)
  2. A Raja (DMK)
  3. Dayanidhi Maran (DMK)
  4. Aparupa Poddar (Trinamool Congress)
  5. Prasun Banerjee (Trinamool Congress)
  6. E.T. Mohammed Basheer (IUML)
  7. Ganesan Selvam (DMK)
  8. C.N Annadurai (DMK)
  9. Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury (Congress)
  10. T. Sumathy (DMK)
  11. Thamizhachi Thangapandian (DMK)
  12. K Navas Kani (IUML)
  13. N K Premachandran (RSP)
  14. Satabdi Roy (Trinamool Congress)
  15. Prof. Souata Ray (Trinamool Congress)
  16. Kaushalendra Kumar (JD(U))
  17. Anto Antony (Congress)
  18. S S Planimanickam (DMK)
  19. Pratima Mondal (Trinamool Congress)
  20. DR. Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar (Trinamool Congress)
  21. K Muraleedharan (Congress)
  22. Sunil Kumar Mondal (Trinamool Congress)
  23. Sellaperumal Ramalingam (DMK)
  24. Suresh Kodikunnil (Congress)
  25. Dr. Amar Singh (Congress)
  26. Thalikkottai Rajuthevar Baalu (DMK)
  27. Su. Thirunavukkarasar (Congress)
  28. Vijay Vasanth (Congress)
  29. Gaurav Gogoi (Congress)
  30. Rajmohan Unnithan (Congress)
  31. Dr. K Jayakumar (Congress)
  32. Dr. K Veeraswamy (DMK)
  33. Ashit Kumar Mal (Trinamool Congress)
  34. Abdul Khaleque (Congress)

The suspension adds to the political turbulence in Parliament, raising questions about the effectiveness of such measures in restoring order and facilitating constructive debate. As the Winter Session unfolds, the suspended MPs’ fate remains uncertain, and their absence is likely to impact the dynamics of parliamentary proceedings.

For more updates stay tuned to FELA News!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles