Know who is TG Sitharam, newly appointed chairman of AICTE

Know who is TG Sitharam, newly appointed chairman of AICTE
Know who is TG Sitharam, newly appointed chairman of AICTE

New Delhi: IIT Guwahati Director Professor TG Sitharam has been appointed as the new chairman of the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). He will take the charge from UGC Chairman M Jagadesh Kumar and hold the post for a period of three years.

Kumar had taken the interim charge as AICTE Chairman after Anil Sahasrabuddhe had retired at the age of 65.

An education ministry statement said, “All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) Act, 1987, the Central Government hereby appoints, Prof. TG Sitharam, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, as Chairman, AICTE in Level-l7 of the pay Matrix, on deputation basis, for a period of three years from the date of assumption of charge, or till attaining the age of 65 years or until further orders, whichever is earliest.”

Who Is Professor Tg Sitharam?

Professor TG Sitharam, who has had a luscious academic career, took over as the director of IIT Guwahati in July 2019.

He is also a member of the Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB), and a senior professor in the civil engineering department of IISc Bangalore. He has served IISc for more than 27 years.

He is also the former research council chairman of CSIR- CBRI (Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee). Moreover, since May 2021, he holds the position of Director (additional charge) of Central Institute of Technology, Kokrajhar, Assam.

Education And Work

TG Sitharam obtained his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Mysore University followed by his master’s degree in civil engineering from IISc. He received his PhD in civil engineering from the University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada (1991).

Soon after his PhD, he worked as a lecturer in Waterloo University and then pursued his post doctoral studies at Texas University’s Centre for Earth Sciences and Engineering.

He has also served as an honorary professor at several universities in the countries of Japan, Canada, Republic of China, USA, Hong Kong, and Australia.


The professor is also the recipient of a number of awards — SP Research Award (SAARC) (1998); Sir CV Raman State Award for Young Scientists, Government of Karnataka (2002); Professor Gopal Ranjan Research Award (2014); The Amulya and Vimala Reddy Lecture Award (2014); and the IGS Kueckelmann Award (2015).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here