38.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Bharat Ratna Honors for Chaudhary Charan Singh, Karpoori Thakur, Others

President Droupadi Murmu presented the Bharat Ratna to four recipients — socialist icon Chaudhary Charan Singh, former Prime Minister PV Narasimha Rao, former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur, and agriculture scientist MS Swaminathan — who were posthumously conferred the highest civilian award.

The fifth awardee, LK Advani, did not attend the ceremony due to illness. President Murmu is expected to present it to him tomorrow at his residence.

PV Prabhakar Rao, the son of Narasimha Rao, received the award conferred on his father from the President at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Chaudhary Charan Singh’s grandson, Jayant Singh, and the president of the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) accepted the honour from President Murmu.”

Swaminathan’s daughter, Nitya Rao, and Karpoori Thakur’s son, Ram Nath Thakur, received the award from the President.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar and other dignitaries attended the event.

Get the latest news updates and stay informed with FELA NEWS!

(Source: India Today)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles