35.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Wealthiest NRI Doctor Emerges as Richest Candidate with Rs 5,785 Crore Assets

Dr. Pemmasani Chandrasekhar, the Telugu Desam Party’s candidate for the Guntur Lok Sabha seat in Andhra Pradesh has declared assets totalling a staggering Rs 5,785.28 crore. An NRI doctor, Chandrasekhar is one of the wealthiest election candidates in the country so far,

After also finding success in various business ventures, his income for the year 2022-23 amounted to Rs 3,68,840, while his wife, Koneru Sriratna, earned Rs 1,47,680 during the same period.

In terms of movable assets, Dr. Chandrasekhar possesses assets worth Rs 2,316 crore, including fixed deposits, term deposits, and other investments.

Meanwhile, Koneru Sriratna holds movable assets valued at Rs 2,289 crore.

Furthermore, the couple’s immovable assets stand at Rs 72,00,24,245 for Dr. Chandrasekhar and Rs 34,82,22,507 for Sriratna.

However, the husband-wife duo carry a significant burden of liabilities, with Dr. Chandrasekhar owing Rs 519 crore and his spouse owing an equal amount.

The couple also jointly own shares in nearly 101 companies worldwide, showcasing their extensive business interests.

According to the PTI news agency, the family has a liability of ₹ 1,138 crore to JP Morgan Chase Bank in the US in the form of Line of Credit.

Dr. Chandrasekhar’s educational background includes an MD in Internal Medicine from the Geisinger Medical Centre in Daniville, Pennsylvania, the US, which he obtained in 2005.

He also holds an MBBS degree from Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences, Andhra Pradesh, earned in 1999.

Despite his substantial wealth and influence, Dr. Chandrasekhar has no pending criminal cases against him.

The Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh will be held simultaneously with the Assembly polls in the state on May 13.

In Guntur, a tradional battleground for the TDP and YSR Congress Party (YSRCP), Dr. Chandrasekhar will face K Venkata Rosaiah of the state’s ruling party.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Galla Jayadev of the TDP secured his position with 587,918 votes, closely trailed by YSRCPs Modugula Venugopala Reddy with 583,713 votes, and JSPs Bonaboyina Srinivas Yadav with 125,205 votes.

The 2014 elections underscored the TDPs dominance, with Jayadev garnering 49.68 per cent of the votes against YSRCP’s Balashowri Vallabhaneni.

Get the latest news updates and stay informed with FELA NEWS!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles